Lerg named Warrior Hockey ECHL Goaltender of the Month


Jeff Lerg of the Toledo Walleye is the Warrior Hockey ECHL Goaltender of the Month for November.


The 28-year-old went 7-0-1 with one shutout, a 2.65 goals-against average and a save percentage of .922 in eight appearances during the month as Toledo went 10-2-1 during November.


Lerg allowed two goals or less in four of his eight apperances and made at least 25 saves seven times in November. He posted his first shutout of the season on Nov. 8, stopping all 14 shots he faced in a 5-0 win against Evansville. He made at least 34 saves three games in a row – stopping 34 shots in a 6-2 victory over Fort Wayne on Nov. 14 and in a 4-3 shootout loss to Reading on Nov. 16 and turning aside 35 shots in a 6-3 win against Fort Wayne on Nov. 19.


A native of Livonia, Mich., Lerg is 8-1-1 in 10 appearances for Toledo this season with one shutout, a 2.52 goals-against average and a save percentage of .921.


Lerg, who spent the previous three seasons playing in Italy and France, has appeared in 39 career ECHL games with Toledo and Trenton posting an overall record of 22-14-2 with one shutout, a 3.11 goals-against average and a save percentage of .904.


During his junior career, he was named the USA Hockey Junior Player of the Year in 2004-05 after leading the United States Hockey League with a 2.16 goals-against average in 52 games with Omaha. He also enjoyed a four-year career at Michigan State University from 2005-09, and helped to lead the Spartans to the 2007 National Championship.


Runners Up: Niklas Lundstrom, Alaska (6-2-0, 2.09 GAA, .922 save pct.); Riley Gill, Allen (8-3-0, 2.05 GAA, .928 save pct.) and Allen York, Florida (6-1-0, 2.00 GAA, .920 save pct.)


Also Nominated: Frans Tuohimaa (Bakersfield), Trevor Cann (Brampton), Clarke Saunders (Colorado), Sam Marotta (Elmira), Pat Nagle (Fort Wayne), Jeff Malcolm (Greenville), Mark Guggenberger (Gwinnett), Henri Kiviaho (Idaho), Joel Martin (Kalamazoo), John Griggs (Missouri), Joe Cannata (Ontario), Kent Patterson (Orlando), Evan Mosher (Quad City), Martin Ouellette (Reading), Jeff Jakaitis (South Carolina), Shane Owen (Stockton), Ryan Faragher (Utah) and Eric Hartzell (Wheeling).




OctoberOlivier RoyIdaho Steelheads