Little named CCM Hockey ECHL Defenseman of the Year

The ECHL on Wednesday announced that Mike Little of the Florida Everblades is the
CCM Hockey ECHL Defenseman of the Year for 2014-15 as determined in a vote of ECHL coaches, broadcasters, media relations directors and media members.

The ECHL Defenseman of the Year award is presented annually to the defensive player who demonstrates throughout the season the greatest all-around ability in the position.

Matt Register of Ontario finished second, followed by Florida’s Cameron Burt, Aaron Gens of Allen and Colorado’s Collin Bowman.

The winner of the Goaltender of the Year award will be announced on Thursday.

Little, who was named to the All-ECHL First Team last week, finished the season tied for the league lead in plus-minus at +46. He was second among defensemen with 54 points, tied for second with 41 assists and tied for sixth with 13 goals.

ECHL Defenseman of the Year Award Winners

2015Mike LittleFlorida Everblades
2014Matt RegisterOntario Reign
2013 Sacha GuimondGwinnett Gladiators
2012 Aaron Schneekloth Colorado Eagles
2011Eric ReganElmira Jackals
2010J.C. SawyerToledo Walleye
2009Dylan YeoVictoria Salmon Kings
2008Peter MetcalfAlaska Aces
2007Jon AweGwinnett Gladiators
2006Ryan GaucherAlaska Aces
2005Ray DiLauroWheeling Nailers
2004Corey NeilsonPensacola Ice Pilots
2003Jim BaxterMississippi Sea Wolves
2002Duncan DalmaoRoanoke Express
2001Tom NemethDayton Bombers
2000Tom NemethDayton Bombers
1999Chris ValicevicLouisiana IceGators
1998Chris ValicevicLouisiana IceGators
1997Chris ValicevicLouisiana Ice Gators
1996Chris ValicevicLouisiana IceGators
1995Brandon SmithDayton Bombers
1994Tom NemethDayton Bombers
1993Derek BoothToledo Storm
1992Scott WhiteGreensboro Monarchs
1991Brett MacDonaldNashville Knights
1990Bill WhitfieldVirginia Lancers
1989Kelly SzautnerErie Panthers