Madden Named Reebok Hockey
Goaltender of the Year

PRINCETON, N.J. – The ECHL on Friday announced that Chris Madden of Florida is the recipient of the Reebok Hockey Goaltender of the Year award for 2004-05 as determined in a vote of ECHL coaches. The Reebok Hockey Goaltender of the Year award is presented annually to the goaltender adjudged to be the best at his position.

The 26-year-old Madden, who was named First Team All-ECHL on April 9, began the season with Long Beach and was 19-5-2 with a goals-against average of 2.14 and a save percentage of .941, both career bests. He was the starting goaltender for the National Conference at the 2005 ECHL All-Star Game, stopping 12 of 13 shots in the first period. Acquired by Florida at the trade deadline, Madden was signed by Providence of the American Hockey League on February 19. Madden is 5-3-0 with two shutouts, a goals-against average of 1.76 and a save percentage of .938 in 11 games with Providence.

Frederic Cloutier of Pensacola (48 gp, 32-12-3, 2.37 GAA, .928 save pct.) finished second in the voting followed by Alfie Michaud of Peoria (48 gp, 27-13-5, 2.04 GAA, .929 save pct.) and Barry Brust of Reading (42 gp, 27-9-4, 1.96 GAA, .928 save pct.).

Reebok Hockey ECHL Goaltender of the Year Award Winners
2004-05 Chris Madden, Florida Everblades
2003-04 Scott Stirling, Atlantic City Boardwalk Bullies
2002-03 Alfie Michaud, Peoria Rivermen
2001-02 Frederic Cloutier, Louisiana IceGators
2000-01 Scott Stirling, Trenton Titans
1999-00 Jan Lasak, Hampton Roads Admirals
1998-99 Maxime Gingras, Richmond Renegades
1997-98 Nick Vitucci, Toledo Storm
1996-97 Marc Delorme, Louisiana IceGators
1995-96 Alain Morissette, Louisville RiverFrogs
1994-95 Chris Gordon, Huntington Blizzard
1993-94 Cory Cadden, Knoxville Cherokees