Matvichuk named 2015-16 ECHL Coach of the Year

The ECHL on Tuesday announced that Richard Matvichuk of the Missouri Mavericks is the 2015-16 recipient of the John Brophy Award as the league’s Coach of the Year.

The John Brophy Award is the trophy presented annually to the ECHL coach selected to have contributed the most to his team’s success as selected in a vote of league coaches. The trophy is named for John Brophy, who won a record three ECHL titles with Hampton Roads in 1991, 1992 and 1998, and was inducted into the ECHL Hall of Fame in 2009.

Spencer Carbery of South Carolina finished second in the voting, followed by Toledo’s Derek Lalonde, Richard Seeley of Manchester and Idaho’s Neil Graham.

The winner of the Defenseman of the Year award will be announced on Wednesday.

In his second season with the Mavericks, Matvichuk led Missouri to the Brabham Cup title as ECHL regular-season champions with a 52-15-5 record for 109 points. Missouri improved by 44 points over last season, tying the eighth-best single-season point increase in league history. The Mavericks won 29 home games this season, tied for the second most wins on home ice in a single-season in ECHL history.

Matvichuk was named as the second coach in team history on June 12, 2014 after previously working with the Allen Americans of the Central Hockey League for the 2012-13 and 2013-14 seasons as defensive coach and assistant general manager, winning back-to-back championships.

Matvichuk had a successful 14-year career in the National Hockey League, drafted eighth overall in the 1991 NHL Entry Draft by the Minnesota North Stars. He went on to play 11 seasons for the Dallas Stars, winning the Stanley Cup in 1999, before moving on to play for the New Jersey Devils for the final two seasons of his career from 2005-07.

John Brophy Award Winners (ECHL Coach of the Year)

2015-16    Richard Matvichuk, Missouri Mavericks
2014-15    Derek Lalonde, Toledo Walleye
2013-14    Spencer Carbery, South Carolina Stingrays
2012-13    Jarrod Skalde, Cincinnati Cyclones
2011-12    Rob Murray, Alaska Aces
        John Wroblewski, Gwinnett Gladiators
2010-11    Brent Thompson, Alaska Aces
2009-10    Derek Laxdal, Idaho Steelheads
2008-09    Rick Kowalsky, Trenton Devils
2007-08    Chuck Weber, Cincinnati Cyclones
2006-07    Davis Payne, Alaska Aces
2005-06    Glen Gulutzan, Las Vegas Wranglers
2004-05    Nick Vitucci, Toledo Storm
2003-04    Pat Bingham, Wheeling Nailers
2002-03    Claude Noel, Toledo Storm
2001-02    Dave Farrish, Louisiana Ice Gators
2000-01    Troy Ward, Trenton Titans
1999-00    Bob Ferguson, Florida Everblades
1998-99    Bob Ferguson, Florida Everblades
1997-98    Chris Nilan, Chesapeake IceBreakers
1996-97    Brian McCutcheon, Columbus Chill
1995-96    Roy Sommer, Richmond Renegades
1994-95    Jim Playfair, Dayton Bombers
1993-94    Barry Smith, Knoxville Cherokees
1992-93    Kurt Kleinendorst, Raleigh IceCaps
1991-92    Doug Sauter, Winston-Salem Thunderbirds
1990-91    Don Jackson, Knoxville Cherokees
1989-90    Dave Allison, Virginia Lancers
1988-89    Ron Hansis, Erie Panthers