Miller receives ECHL Outstanding Media Award

PRINCETON, N.J. – The ECHL announced on Monday that Andrew Miller of The Post and Courier in Charleston, S.C. has been selected as the 2012-13 recipient of the ECHL Outstanding Media Award.

The award is determined in a vote of league media members, media relations directors and broadcasters.

“We are proud to present Andrew with the 2012-13 ECHL Outstanding Media Award,” said ECHL Commissioner Brian McKenna. “He has provided Stingrays’ fans with top-notch coverage for well over a decade, and is certainly well-deserving of this award.”

“It’s an incredible honor to be given an award like this, especially considering some of the past winners like Christine Troyke (Gwinnett) and Doyle Woody (Alaska), two journalists I truly respect and admire,” Miller said. “I couldn’t do my job without the tremendous support and hard work from my colleagues at The Post and Courier. My job is made so much easier working with everyone in the Stingrays front office, especially team president Rob Concannon and head coach Spencer Carbery. A special thank you goes out to my broadcast partner and Stingrays media relations director Joey Zakrzewski, who makes coming to work every day a pleasure.”

Miller has worked at The Post and Courier for more than two decades and has covered the Stingrays since 1998. In addition to covering the Stingrays, he also is the paper’s beat writer for the College of Charleston and Charleston Battery soccer team and has covered everything from high school sports to the Carolina Panthers of the National Football League. He also provides color commentary for the Stingrays’ home broadcasts. Miller is from Chicago, Ill., and graduated from the University of South Carolina in 1986 with a degree in journalism.

ECHL Outstanding Media Award Winners

2013 Andrew Miller The Post and Courier
2012Christine Troyke
Gwinnett Daily Post
2011Pam ShebestKalamazoo Gazette
2010Doyle WoodyAnchorage Daily News
2009Mike GriffithBakersfield Californian
2008Doyle WoodyAnchorage Daily News
 Cleve DheensawVictoria Times-Colonist
2007Scott LinesburghThe Stockton Record
2006Matt NevalaAnchorage Daily News
2005Mike MastovichJohnstown Tribune-Democrat
2004Len BardsleyThe Times of Trenton
2003Dave EminianPeoria Journal Star