Mississippi’s Kelly Receives
ECHL Media Relations Award

ATLANTA – The ECHL announced that Mike Kelly of the Mississippi Sea Wolves is the 2003-04 recipient of the ECHL Media Relations Award.

Kelly was presented the award at the ECHL Marketing and Communications Meetings in Atlanta. The winner is chosen in a vote of media relations directors, broadcasters and media.

In his fifth season as the Director of Broadcasting and Public Relations, Kelly handles the day-to-day media activities while also serving as the “Voice of the Sea Wolves”. Kelly, who was selected to do the radio broadcast of the 2003 ECHL All-Star Game, is responsible for press releases, souvenir game programs and game notes while also overseeing the official team web site. During the offseason, Kelly speaks on behalf of the Sea Wolves throughout the community while assisting in the sale of corporate sponsorship.

In his 11th season as a broadcaster, Kelly did play-by-play in the Ontario Hockey League with Barrie and Toronto St. Michael’s, in the Colonial Hockey League with Brantford, and in the Ontario Hockey Association with Orangeville. He worked four years at The Sports Network in Toronto, and broadcast the 1997 Women’s World Hockey Championship and Major League Roller Hockey in Toronto.

ECHL Media Relations Award Winners

Mike Kelly
Mississippi Sea Wolves

Ryan Stanzel
Louisiana IceGators

Bill McLaughlin
Greenville Grrrowl

Darren Abbott
South Carolina Stingrays

Darren Abbott
South Carolina Stingrays

Mark Simpson
Charlotte Checkers

Andy Davis
Richmond Renegades

Peter Kostos
Louisiana IceGators