Monroe receives ECHL Outstanding Media Award

The ECHL announced on Thursday that Mark Monroe of the Toledo Blade in Toledo, Ohio has been selected as the 2015-16 recipient of the ECHL Outstanding Media Award.

The award is determined in a vote of league media members, media relations directors and broadcasters.

“Mark is a very deserving recipient of this year’s ECHL Outstanding Media Award,” said ECHL Commissioner Brian McKenna. “Fans of the Walleye are fortunate to have a hard-working, dedicated professional such as Mark covering their team on a daily basis. On behalf of the ECHL, I congratulate Mark on this recognition.”

“It’s both humbling and gratifying to be singled out among so many great journalists who cover the ECHL. That is what makes this award truly special,” Monroe said. “I am fortunate to cover a sport I love and hopefully my passion is conveyed through my writing and work on social media. “The Walleye are a first-class organization to work with, from the coaches, players and staff to the off-ice officials and front office professionals. The organization and ECHL continue to put a quality and entertaining product on the ice that is exciting to chronicle. This honor is only made possible through the support of my co-workers, and most importantly, my family.”

Monroe has covered the ECHL for the Blade for nine seasons, beginning with the Toledo Storm in 2005-06, and has covered the Walleye since their inaugural season in 2009-10. He has been with the newspaper for 17 years, and covers high school sports in addition to his duties covering the Walleye and the ECHL.

In 2015, he won an Ohio Excellence in Journalism award, taking second place in sports reporting for a feature story on a high school athlete who is a double-amputee and hewas a contributing writer to the book “Hockey Night in Toledo.” The book, which was published in 2009, chronicles the rich 60-plus year history of professional hockey in the northwest Ohio city.

Monroe graduated from Kent State University in 1995 with a bachelor of science degree in magazine journalism.

ECHL Outstanding Media Award Winners

2015-16    Mark Monroe, Toledo Blade
2014-15    Blake Sebring, The News-Sentinel
2013-14    Doyle Woody, Anchorage Daily News
2012-13    Andrew Miller, The Post & Courier
2011-12    Christine Troyke, Gwinnett Daily Post
2010-11    Pam Shebest, Kalamazoo Gazette
2009-10    Doyle Woody, Anchorage Daily News
2008-09    Mike Griffith, Bakersfield Californian
2007-08    Cleve Dheensaw, Victoria Times-Colonist
                Doyle Woody, Anchorage Daily News
2006-07    Scott Linesburgh, Stockton Record
2005-06    Matt Nevala, Anchorage Daily News
2004-05    Mike Mastovich, The Tribune-Democrat
2003-04    Len Bardsley, The Times of Trenton
2002-03    Dave Eminian,
Peoria Journal Star