National Conference Playoff Race Shaping Up

Alaska is 35-12-2 and leads the ECHL and the National Conference with 72 points while Las Vegas is 26-9-11 and leads the Pacific Division with 63 points, two points ahead of Bakersfield (28-12-5). Idaho is fourth in the conference with 53 points (25-18-3) followed by Fresno with 52 points (24-18-4) and Stockton with 51 points (21-14-9).

Las Vegas hosts Alaska on Tuesday before traveling to Idaho for games on Wednesday, Friday and Saturday while Bakersfield will host Fresno on Monday and Long Beach on Friday and Saturday.

Phoenix is in seventh place with 48 points (22-22-4), seven points ahead of Victoria (20-29-1) which holds the conference’s last postseason spot with 41 points, one point ahead of Utah (20-29-1) and four points in front of Long Beach (17-26-3).

Victoria will host Stockton on Wednesday, Friday and Saturday while Long Beach concludes its season-long nine-game road trip by visiting Bakersfield on Friday and Saturday and Phoenix on Sunday. Continuing a season-long 10-game home stand, Utah hosts Fresno on Wednesday, Friday and Saturday. The Salmon Kings, who are 6-3-0 in their last nine games including a team record five-game winning streak, are trying to reach the Kelly Cup Playoffs for the first time in their three seasons. The Ice Dogs, who picked up a pair of wins at Utah, are trying for a third consecutive playoff berth while the Grizzlies look to advance to the postseason for the second year in a row.

In the National Conference, playoff berths will be awarded to the first-place team in each division as well as to the next six-best teams, based on regular-season point totals, and all playoff series will be best-of-seven games. In the Conference Quarterfinals, which will be best-of-seven game series, the division winners will be seeded first and second in order of points and the next six-best teams will be seeded third through eighth in order of points. In the Conference Semifinals and the Conference Finals, teams will be re-seeded according to the same criteria as the Conference Quarterfinals with division leaders seeded first and second while the remaining teams will be seeded in order of regular-season points.