Skip to content

ECHL receives returned Kelly Cup

ECHL Commissioner Emeritus Patrick J. Kelly presenting the Kelly Cup

ECHL Commissioner Ryan Crelin attended the Newfoundland Growlers’ home games against the Atlanta Gladiators on Friday and Saturday, and received the Kelly Cup from the Growlers that was returned by the Colorado Eagles to Newfoundland last month.

Newfoundland, which captured the 2019 Kelly Cup title with a 4 games to 2 win over Toledo in the Kelly Cup Finals, will keep the Cup which was raised following their championship victory at the Mile One Centre. The returned Kelly Cup will return to circulation and be presented to the ECHL champion by its namesake, ECHL Commissioner Emeritus Patrick J. Kelly, following the 2020 Kelly Cup Finals.

“The return of the Kelly Cup is great news for hockey,” said ECHL Commissioner Emeritus Patrick J. Kelly. “To continue the passage of Kelly Cup from champion to champion is an honor and tradition that I look forward to continuing.”

The ECHL appreciates the safe return of the Kelly Cup and everyone’s efforts to do what is best for the game of hockey.

About the ECHL

Began in 1988-89 with five teams in four states, the ECHL has grown into a coast-to-coast league with 26 teams in 19 states and two Canadian provinces for its 32nd season in 2019-20. There have been 665 players who have gone on to play in the National Hockey League after playing in the ECHL, including three who have made their NHL debuts in the 2019-20 season. The ECHL has affiliations with 25 of the 31 NHL teams in 2019-20, marking the 23rd consecutive season that the league had affiliations with at least 20 teams in the NHL. Further information on the ECHL is available at as well as on Twitter and Facebook.