Orlando receives Team Award of Excellence


The ECHL on Thursday announced that the Orlando Solar Bears have been selected as the 2012-13 recipient of the ECHL Team Award of Excellence.

The award recognizes the ECHL organization that executes a well-rounded business plan including, but not limited to, sales, marketing, media relations and merchandising while also distinguishing themselves in their community, on and off the ice.

The other finalists were the Cincinnati Cyclones and San Francisco Bulls.

The Solar Bears finished third in the ECHL during the first season with an average of 6,668 fans per game, and had seven crowds of over 8,500 fans while also leading the League in jersey sales.

Players and staff members attended over 100 community events including school appearances and hospital visits while the club donated to over 200 local charities throughout the season.

Orlando attained nearly 13,000 “Likes” on Facebook and nearly 4,000 Twitter followers during its first season. The club also launched the “I am a Solar Bear” campaign which saw over 300 fans come to a team photo shoot where 14 winners were selected to take part in the team’s advertising during the 2012-13 season.

ECHL Award of Excellence Winners

2013Orlando Solar Bears
2012Toledo Walleye
2011Bakersfield Condors
2010Toledo Walleye
2009Stockton Thunder
2008Gwinnett Gladiators
2007Stockton Thunder
2006Alaska Aces
2005Pensacola Ice Pilots
2004Johnstown Chiefs
 Florida Everblades