Orlando’s Lang named CCM ECHL Most Valuable Player


The ECHL on Friday announced that Mickey Lang of the Orlando Solar Bears has been selected as the CCM ECHL Most Valuable Player for 2013-14.


The CCM Most Valuable Player award is presented annually to the player selected to be the most valuable to his team as determined in a vote of ECHL coaches, broadcasters, media relations directors and media members.


Peter Sivak of Alaska finished second, followed by Fort Wayne’s Brandon Marino, Jeff Jakaitis of South Carolina and Bakersfield’s Laurent Brossoit.


Lang, who was named to the All-ECHL First Team last week, led the league with 44 goals, becoming the first ECHL player to score at least 40 goals in a season since 2010-11. His 16 power-play goals also led the league and he finished third with 77 points. Lang was tied for the league lead with seven game-winning goals, tied for third with 21 power-play points and was fifth with 227 shots on goal.


He was acquired in a trade with Fort Wayne in December, and tallied 51 points (27g-24a) in 37 games with the Solar Bears. Orlando posted a 28-12-4 record from Dec. 30 when Lang played his first game with the club through the end of the season.

CCM ECHL Most Valuable Player Award Winners

2014 Mickey LangOrlando Solar Bears
2013 Ryan ZapolskiSouth Carolina Stingrays
2012 Chad CostelloColorado Eagles
2011 Wes GoldieAlaska Aces
2010 Tyler DonatiElmira Jackals
2009 Kevin BakerFlorida Everblades
2008 David DesharnaisCincinnati Cyclones
2007 Brad SchellGwinnett Gladiators
2006 Jeff CampbellGwinnett Gladiators
2005 Scott GomezAlaska Aces
2004 Scott StirlingAtlantic City Boardwalk Bullies
2003 Buddy SmithArkansas RiverBlades
2002 Frederic CloutierLouisiana IceGators
2001 Scott KingCharlotte Checkers
2000 Andrew WilliamsonToledo Storm
1999 Chris ValicevicLouisiana IceGators
1998 Jamey HicksBirmingham Bulls
1997 Mike RossSouth Carolina Stingrays
1996 Hugo P. BelangerNashville Knights
1995 Vadim SlivchenkoWheeling Thunderbirds
1994 Joe FlanaganBirmingham Bulls
1993 Trevor JobeNashville Knights
1992 Phil BergerGreensboro Monarchs
1991 Stan DruliaKnoxville Cherokees
1990 Bill McDougallErie Panthers
1989 Daryl HarpeErie Panthers