Penguins Re-Sign 2002 All-Star Gove

PITTSBURGH – The Pittsburgh Penguins of the National Hockey League announced that they have re-signed center David Gove, who was selected to the ECHL All-Star Game when he was a rookie with the Johnstown Chiefs.

The Wheeling Nailers are the ECHL affiliate of Pittsburgh of the NHL and the Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins of the American Hockey League.

The 30 year old had 49 points (17g-32a) in 54 regular season games and four points (1g-3a) in eight Kelly Cup Playoff games with Johnstown in 2001-02 while also playing in the AHL where he had six points (2g-4a) in 17 with Grand Rapids.

Gove was acquired by Pittsburgh on Jan. 31, 2008 from the Carolina Hurricanes of the NHL in exchange for left wing Joe Jensen, who was one of six players who played in both the ECHL and the NHL in 2007-08.

Gove had 12 points (5g-7a) and 10 penalty minutes in 23 postseason games and 22 points (15g-7a) in 36 regular season games for Wilkes-Barre/Scranton after having 23 points (8g-15a) and 31 penalty minutes in 45 games with Albany.

He made his NHL debut with Carolina on Jan. 31, 2006 and has one assist in two games with the Hurricanes.

Gove has played in the AHL each of his first seven seasons and has 220 points (95g-125a) and 214 penalty minutes in 429 regular season games and 21 points (8g-13a) and 28 penalty minutes in 47 playoff games with Albany, Grand Rapids, Lowell, Providence, San Antonio, Utah and Wilkes-Barre/Scranton.

The Premier ‘AA’ Hockey League had affiliations with 26 of the 30 teams in the NHL in 2007-08, marking the 11th consecutive season that the league has had affiliations with at least 20 teams.

There have been 355 players who have played in the NHL after the ECHL and 210 who have made their debut in the last seven seasons.

Twenty-six former ECHL players made their NHL debut in 2007-08 including six who played in both the ECHL and NHL: Chris Beckford-Tseu (Alaska and St. Louis), Adam Berti (Pensacola and Chicago), Joe Jensen (Wheeling and Carolina), Dan LaCosta (Elmira and Columbus), Jonathan Quick (Reading and Los Angeles) and Danny Taylor (Reading and Los Angeles).

Former Mississippi Sea Wolves and current Washington Capitals head coach Bruce Boudreau was selected as the NHL Coach of the Year in 2007-08. He is one of 14 coaches with an ECHL background working behind an NHL bench including former Wheeling coach Peter Laviolette, who is head coach of the Carolina Hurricanes.

The ECHL is represented on the Stanley Cup for the eighth consecutive year with Aaron Downey, who played his first two professional seasons with Hampton Roads, becomes the 14th former player to be a part of a NHL championship team.