Pensacola Receives ECHL
Award of Distinction

PRINCETON, N.J. – The ECHL announced on Monday that the Pensacola Ice Pilots are the 2004-05 recipient of the ECHL Award of Distinction.

Pensacola was presented with the award at the annual ECHL Marketing and Communications Meetings, which were held June 6-8 in Las Vegas and attended by more than 160 representatives from ECHL teams.

The Award of Distinction is presented annually by the league to organizations that are first-rate, cooperative with the league office, compliant with league programs, and who distinguish themselves on and off the ice in their community.

The Ice Pilots were almost forced to suspend operations for 2004-05 in the aftermath of Hurricane Ivan, the worst storm in Pensacola’s history, which completely destroyed the team’s housing and also damaged the Pensacola Civic Center. The Ice Pilots drew 141,947 and averaged 3,931 per game, an increase of almost nine percent from 2003-04.

Owner Tim Kerr decided to play the season and the team won the Brabham Cup, the trophy awarded annually to the regular season point champion, and qualified for the postseason for the fourth season in a row and the seventh time in its nine-year history in Pensacola. The Ice Pilots set team records for points (107), wins (51), home wins (26), road wins (25), consecutive wins (12) and consecutive home wins (9) while tying the team record for consecutive road wins (6). Pensacola became the sixth team in 17 ECHL seasons to win 50 games and the 15th team in league history to reach 100 points.

ECHL Award of Distinction Winners

Year Team
2004-05 Pensacola Ice Pilots
2003-04 Florida Everblades
Johnstown Chiefs