Perennial Powers In Conference Finals

By Doyle Woody
Anchorage Daily News

ANCHORAGE, Alaska – Four ECHL hockey clubs remain alive in the Kelly Cup quest to be crowned king, and it’s like a convention of rink royalty.

The Alaska Aces tonight entertain the Las Vegas Wranglers in the opener of the National Conference finals and the South Carolina Stingrays host the defending champion Cincinnati Cyclones in the American Conference finals.

All four teams own noteworthy credentials.

Cincinnati (2008), Alaska (2006) and South Carolina (1997) are the only franchises in the league’s previous 20 seasons to win the Brabham Cup as regular-season champs and also seize the Kelly Cup.

Cincinnati, South Carolina and Las Vegas went this deep into the playoffs last season, when Cincinnati beat Las Vegas in the Kelly Cup Finals.

Full Story