Phoenix’s Weiss Receives Broadcaster Award

PRINCETON, N.J. – The ECHL announced on Monday that Dan Weiss of the Phoenix RoadRunners has been selected as the recipient of the ECHL Broadcaster Award for 2005-06.

In voting by ECHL broadcasters and media relations directors, Weiss finished ahead of Paul Chestnutt of Pensacola, Brian Clark of Fresno, Chris Ello of San Diego, Jack Michaels of Alaska and Kevin Reiter of Florida.

Weiss was the official voice of the RoadRunners, who had all 72 games broadcast on 1100 AM KFNX in their inaugural season, while also serving as the director of media relations and handling the daily communications duties. He was the public relations and broadcast manager for the Atlantic City Boardwalk Bullies from 2003-05 and was selected to the audio broadcast team for the 2005 ECHL All-Star Game.

The native of Weston, Mass. has been a broadcaster for seven years, doing play-by-play for Corpus Christi of the Central Hockey League and Northeastern University as well as working for three years as a producer at Sports Radio 850 AM WEEI in Boston, which is the top-rated sports radio station in the United States. Weiss was awarded his bachelor’s degree in communications and political science from Northeastern University.

ECHL Broadcaster Award Winners

Year Recipient Team
2005-06 Dan Weiss Phoenix RoadRunners
2004-05 John Michael Johnstown Chiefs
2003-04 Jack Michaels Alaska Aces
2002-03 Darren Abbott South Carolina Stingrays
2001-02 Joe Zydlo Trenton Titans