Register named CCM Hockey ECHL Defenseman of the Year

The ECHL on Wednesday announced that Matt Register of the Ontario Reign is the CCM Hockey ECHL Defenseman of the Year for 2013-14 as determined in a vote of ECHL coaches, broadcasters, media relations directors and media members.


The ECHL Defenseman of the Year award is presented annually to the defensive player who demonstrates throughout the season the greatest all-around ability in the position.

Sam Ftorek of Kalamazoo finished second, followed by Wheeling’s Mike Ratchuk, Elgin Reid of Kalamazoo and Orlando’s Blake Kessel.


The winner of the Goaltender of the Year award will be announced on Thursday.


Register, who was named to the All-ECHL First Team last week, finished the season tied for second among ECHL defensemen with 14 goals and 44 points while his three game-winning goals were tied for fourth. His 30 assists were tied for sixth among blueliners and his +21 rating was second on the Reign

ECHL Defenseman of the Year Award Winners


2014Matt RegisterOntario Reign
2013 Sacha GuimondGwinnett Gladiators
2012 Aaron Schneekloth Colorado Eagles
2011Eric ReganElmira Jackals
2010J.C. SawyerToledo Walleye
2009Dylan YeoVictoria Salmon Kings
2008Peter MetcalfAlaska Aces
2007Jon AweGwinnett Gladiators
2006Ryan GaucherAlaska Aces
2005Ray DiLauroWheeling Nailers
2004Corey NeilsonPensacola Ice Pilots
2003Jim BaxterMississippi Sea Wolves
2002Duncan DalmaoRoanoke Express
2001Tom NemethDayton Bombers
2000Tom NemethDayton Bombers
1999Chris ValicevicLouisiana IceGators
1998Chris ValicevicLouisiana IceGators
1997Chris ValicevicLouisiana Ice Gators
1996Chris ValicevicLouisiana IceGators
1995Brandon SmithDayton Bombers
1994Tom NemethDayton Bombers
1993Derek BoothToledo Storm
1992Scott WhiteGreensboro Monarchs
1991Brett MacDonaldNashville Knights
1990Bill WhitfieldVirginia Lancers
1989Kelly SzautnerErie Panthers