Riley named 2013-14 ECHL Executive of the Year

The ECHL on Wednesday announced that Bakersfield Condors’ President Matthew Riley has been selected by the ECHL Board of Governors as the 2013-14 recipient of the ECHL Executive of the Year award.

Riley, who also won the award in 2006-07, joins Gwinnett Gladiators’ President, and current Chairman of the Board of Governors Steve Chapman, as the only two-time winners of the Executive of the Year award since it was introduced in 1995.

This past season, Riley was instrumental in the negotiations that saw the National Hockey League’s Edmonton Oilers purchase the Condors, giving the organization the resources and support for long-term stability. Bakersfield also had over a six percent increase in box office sales and set a new team record in group revenue. The Condors raised over $350,000 in cash and goods for non-profits, increasing their all-time total of donations to over $4.6 million. On the ice, after missing the playoffs in the previous two seasons, Riley allocated more resources to hockey operations which led to the Condors first-ever appearance in the Western Conference Finals in the 2014 Kelly Cup Playoffs.

Riley was named president of the Condors in 2001 and has been with the organization since 1997 and he also serves on the ECHL’s Executive Committee. Riley served as acting commissioner for the West Coast Hockey League in 2002, playing a large role in the transition to the ECHL while overseeing the cease of operations for the WCHL. Riley was general manager of the Condors for the team’s first five seasons. Bakersfield was named Organization of the Year by the WCHL in his first season in 1998-99 and Riley was named WCHL Executive of the Year in his second season in 1999-2000. Prior to joining the Condors, Riley worked in minor league baseball serving as executive director of the Mobile BayBears, general manager of the Mobile Bay Sharks, and assistant general manager of the Chattanooga Lookouts. He began his career in professional sports as an intern with the St. Louis Cardinals. A native of Keokuk, Iowa, Riley received his communications degree from Nebraska Wesleyan University and his master’s degree in sports management from the United States Sports Academy. Riley and his wife, Teri, reside in Bakersfield with their son, Landon.

ECHL Executive Of The Year Winners

2014Matthew RileyBakersfield Condors
2013Joe Napoli
Toledo Walleye
2012Justin Kemp
Ontario Reign
2011Dan ChapmanStockton Thunder
2010Kristin RoppCincinnati Cyclones
2009Gordon KayeReading Royals
2008Darren AbbottSouth Carolina Stingrays
2007Matthew RileyBakersfield Condors
2006Steve ChapmanGwinnett Gladiators
2005Steve ChapmanGwinnett Gladiators
2004Terry ParksAlaska Aces
2003John ButlerPeoria Rivermen
2002Matt LoughranAtlantic City Boardwalk Bullies
2001Craig BrushFlorida Everblades
2000Brian McKennaTrenton Titans
1999Carl ScheerGreenville Grrrowl
1998Charles FelixPensacola IcePilots
1997David PaitsonColumbus Chill
1996Dave BerrymanLouisiana IceGators
1995Harry Feuerstein/Craig LaughlinRichmond Renegades
1994John Gagnon/Pierre PaiementRoanoke Express
1993Larry KishWheeling Thunderbirds