Roanoke’s Jaffray Named
CCM/ECHL Rookie of the Year

PRINCETON, N.J. – The East Coast Hockey League announced on Saturday that Jason Jaffray of the Roanoke Express has been named the 2002-03 CCM/ECHL Rookie of the Year as determined in a vote of ECHL coaches. Jaffray becomes the first non-goaltender to win the John A. Daley Memorial Trophy since Toledo center Sean Venedam in 1997-98.

Named to the All-ECHL First Team on Thursday and to the ECHL All-Rookie Team on Wednesday, Jaffray leads ECHL rookies with 51 assists and 84 points in 62 games while ranking second with 33 goals and tied for third with 10 power-play goals.

The 21-year-old Jaffray, who ranks seventh overall in the ECHL in scoring, became the first player ever to win the CCM ECHL Rookie of the Month twice, earning the honor in November and December after being the runner-up in October. Under contract to Norfolk of the AHL, Jaffray was named as a starter and had an assist in the Northern Conference’s 8-2 win in the 2003 Compuware/ECHL All-Star Game.

CCM/ECHL Rookie of the Year Award Winners
2002-03 Jason Jaffray, Roanoke Express
2001-02 Frederic Cloutier, Louisiana IceGators
2000-01 Scott Stirling, Trenton Titans
1999-00 Jan Lasak, Hampton Roads Admirals
1998-99 Maxime Gingras, Richmond Renegades
1997-98 Sean Venedam, Toledo Storm
1996-97 Dany Bousquet, Birmingham Bulls
1995-96 Keli Corpse, Wheeling Thunderbirds
1994-95 Kevin McKinnon, Erie Panthers
1993-94 Dan Gravelle, Greensboro Monarchs
1992-93 Joe Flanagan, Birmingham Bulls
1991-92 Darren Colbourne, Dayton Bombers
1990-91 Dan Gauthier, Knoxville Cherokees
1989-90 Bill McDougall, Erie Panthers
1988-89 Tom Sasso, Johnstown Chiefs

The East Coast Hockey League will announce the 2002-03 Defenseman of the Year Award winner on Sunday, March 30.