Robinson named Warrior Hockey ECHL Goaltender of the Year

The ECHL on Thursday announced that Josh Robinson of the Missouri Mavericks is the recipient of the Warrior Hockey ECHL Goaltender of the Year award for 2015-16.

The Warrior Hockey Goaltender of the Year award is presented annually to the goaltender selected to be the best at his position as determined in a vote of ECHL coaches, broadcasters, media relations directors and media members.

Jeff Lerg of Toledo finished second, followed by Kalamazoo’s Joel Martin, Jack Campbell of Idaho and Fort Wayne’s Pat Nagle.

The winner of the CCM Most Valuable Player award will be announced on Friday.

Robinson, who was named to the All-ECHL First Team last week, posted a league-leading 1.88 goals-against average – which ranks as the fourth-best in a single-season ECHL history – and a league-best .931 save percentage while ranking second with 28 wins.

The 26-year-old went 28-2-1 during the regular season and posted a personal 21-game winning streak from Nov. 4 through Feb. 14, setting a new league record for the longest winning streak by a goaltender. Robinson allowed two goals or less in 22 of his 31 starts during the regular season.

Warrior Hockey ECHL Goaltender of the Year Award Winners

2015-16    Josh Robinson, Missouri Mavericks
2014-15    Jeff Jakaitis, South Carolina Stingrays
Jeff Jakaitis, South Carolina Stingrays
2012-13    Ryan Zapolski, South Carolina Stingrays
Jeff Jakaitis, Gwinnett Gladiators
2010-11    Gerald Coleman, Alaska Aces
2009-10    Todd Ford, South Carolina Stingrays
2008-09    Jean-Philippe Lamoureux, Alaska Aces
2007-08    Anton Khudobin, Texas Wildcatters
2006-07    Adam Berkhoel, Dayton Bombers
2005-06    Matt Underhill, Alaska Aces
2004-05    Chris Madden, Florida Everblades/Long Beach Ice Dogs
2003-04    Scott Stirling, Atlantic City Boardwalk Bullies
2002-03    Alfie Michaud, Peoria Rivermen
2001-02    Frederic Cloutier, Louisiana IceGators
2000-01    Scott Stirling, Trenton Titans
1999-00    Jan Lasak, Hampton Roads Admirals
1998-99    Maxime Gingras, Richmond Renegades
1997-98    Nick Vitucci, Toledo Storm
1996-97    Marc Delorme, Louisiana IceGators
1995-96    Alain Morissette, Louisville RiverFrogs
1994-95    Chris Gordon, Huntington Blizzard
1993-94    Cory Cadden, Knoxville Cherokees