Royals’ Gill named Most Valuable Player of Kelly Cup Playoffs

Riley Gill of the Reading Royals has been named the Most Valuable Player of the 2013 Kelly Cup Playoffs.

The award is presented annually “to the most valuable player for his team in the playoffs” as selected by members of the media and ECHL League Office staff at the conclusion of the final game of the Kelly Cup Finals.

Gill appeared in 17 games during the postseason, posting a record of 13-4, while finishing second among goaltenders with a 1.91 goals-against average and a .930 save percentage. His four shutouts are tied for the second most in a single postseason in ECHL history and his two shutouts in the Kelly Cup Finals are tied for the most in a Finals series in League history.

Kelly Cup Playoffs Most Valuable Player Award

2013Riley Gill
Reading Royals
2012John MuseFlorida Everblades
2011Scott HowesAlaska Aces
2010Jeremy Smith and Robert MayerCincinnati Cyclones
2009James ReimerSouth Carolina Stingrays
2008Cedrick DesjardinsCincinnati Cyclones
2007Steve SilverthornIdaho Steelheads
2006Mike ScottAlaska Aces
2005Leon HaywardTrenton Titans
2004Dan EllisIdaho Steelheads
2003Kevin ColleyAtlantic City Boardwalk Bullies
2002Simon Gamache and Tyrone GarnerGreenville Grrrowl
2001Dave SeitzSouth Carolina Stingrays

J.F. Boutin and Jason Christie

Peoria Rivermen
1999Travis ScottMississippi Sea Wolves
1998Sebastien CharpentierHampton Roads Admirals
1997Jason FitzsimmonsSouth Carolina Stingrays
1996Nick VitucciCharlotte Checkers
1995Blaine MooreRichmond Renegades
1994Dave GagnonToledo Storm
1993Rick JudsonToledo Storm
1992Mark BernardHampton Roads Admirals
1991Dave Flanagan and Dave GagnonHampton Roads Admirals
1990Wade FlahertyGreensboro Monarchs
1989Nick VitucciCarolina Thunderbirds