San Diego’s Zager Receives Media Relations Award

PRINCETON, N.J. – The ECHL announced on Monday that for the second consecutive year San Diego Gulls director of public relations Jeremy Zager is the 2005-06 recipient of the ECHL Media Relations Award. Zager joins Darren Abbott of South Carolina as the only two-time winner of the award.

Zager, who was presented with his award at the annual ECHL Communications and Marketing Meetings, finished ahead of Josh Fisher of the Las Vegas Wranglers in a vote of media relations directors, broadcasters and media members.

Zager will begin his eighth season in the Gulls public relations department in 2006-07, having begun his career with the organization in 2000 as an intern. Zager handles the day-to-day media activities of the organization while also being responsible for all printed publications and serving as a liaison for all community inquiries. He works part-time as a broadcaster for Gulls games and also assists with the team’s community relations and appearances. Zager and Tera Black were selected Media Director of the Year for the West Coast Hockey League in 2002-03. Zager was awarded his bachelor’s degree in journalism from San Diego State University in 2002 and was selected as the school’s “Outstanding Journalism Graduate” for 2001-02.

ECHL Media Relations Award Winners

Year Recipient Team

2005-06 Jeremy Zager San Diego Gulls
2004-05 Jeremy Zager San Diego Gulls
2003-04 Mike Kelly Mississippi Sea Wolves
2002-03 Ryan Stanzel Louisiana IceGators
2001-02 Bill McLaughlin Greenville Grrrowl
2000-01 Darren Abbott South Carolina Stingrays
99-2000 Darren Abbott South Carolina Stingrays
1998-99 Mark Simpson Charlotte Checkers
1997-98 Andy Davis Richmond Renegades
1996-97 Peter Kostos Louisiana IceGators