Skalde named head coach of Norfolk Admirals

The American Hockey League’s Norfolk Admirals have named former Cincinnati Cyclones’ head coach Jarrod Skalde as their new head coach.

Skalde spent the 2013-14 season as an assistant coach with Norfolk. Prior to that, he spent the previous three seasons with Cincinnati, posting an overall record of 110-79-27 and leading the Cyclones to the Kelly Cup Playoffs in both 2011 and 2013.

He received the John Brophy Award as ECHL Coach of the Year following the 2012-13 season after leading the Cyclones to a 42-22-8 regular-season record and the North Division title, the team’s first division championship since 2008. Cincinnati advanced to the Eastern Conference Finals, where the Cyclones fell to the eventual Kelly Cup champion Reading Royals in five games.

Twelve of the 30 head coaches in the American Hockey League coached in the ECHL with Albany’s Rick Kowalsky, Bridgeport’s Brent Thompson, Hershey’s Troy Mann, Iowa’s Kurt Kleinendorst, Norfolk’s Jarrod Skalde, Portland’s Ray Edwards, Providence’s Bruce Cassidy, Rockford’s Ted Dent, Springfield’s Jared Bednar, St. John’s Keith McCambridge, Texas’ Derek Laxdal and Worcester’s Roy Sommer.

Former ECHL broadcasters working in the American Hockey League include Grady Whittenburg of the Binghamton Senators, Jason Shaya of the Charlotte Checkers, Jason Shaver of the Chicago Wolves, Joe O’Donnell of the Iowa Wild, Doug Plagens of the Lake Erie Monsters, Pete Michaud of the Norfolk Admirals, Dan Weiss of the San Antonio Rampage, Mike Kelly of the Springfield Falcons, Dan D’Uva of the Syracuse Crunch, Brendan Burke of the Utica Comets and Eric Lindquist of the Worcester Sharks.