South Carolina’s Zakrzewski named Broadcaster of the Year

PRINCETON, N.J. – The ECHL on Tuesday announced that Joseph Zakrzewski of the South Carolina Stingrays is the 2012-13 recipient of the ECHL Broadcaster of the Year award as determined in voting by league media relations directors and broadcasters.

The other finalists were Josh Bogorad of the Alaska Aces, Alex Reed of the Florida Everblades, Bob Chase of the Fort Wayne Komets and Bob Mills of the Orlando Solar Bears.

Zakrzewski completed his fourth season as the “Voice of the Stingrays” in 2012-13 after spending two seasons as the Broadcasting Assistant for the Houston Aeros of the American Hockey League and Broadcaster of the Battle Creek Bombers baseball team of the Northwoods League. He handles all media and public relations activities for the team, creates and manages content and graphics on the Stingrays’ website and new media systems and serves as the team’s play-by-play broadcaster. The Spring, Texas native graduated from Sam Houston State University in 2009 with a degree in Mass Communications specializing in Broadcast Journalism and a minor in English. In addition to working with the Aeros and Bombers, Zakrzewski worked for two years with Sam Houston State’s local radio and television stations and was also a four-year member of the school’s hockey team where he helped lead the Bearkats to three consecutive SCHL championship appearances.

ECHL Broadcaster Award Winners

2013Joseph ZakrzewskiSouth Carolina Stingrays
2012Bob Mills
Chicago Express
2011Josh BogoradAlaska Aces
2010Doug PlagensIdaho Steelheads
2009Josh HellerSouth Carolina Stingrays
2008Joe BabikFresno Falcons
 Brendan BurkeWheeling Nailers
2007Kevin ReiterFlorida Everblades
 Joe O’DonnellIdaho Steelheads
2006Dan WeissPhoenix RoadRunners
2005John MichaelJohnstown Chiefs
2004Jack MichaelsAlaska Aces
2003Darren AbbottSouth Carolina Stingrays
2002Joe ZydloTrenton Titans