Stanley Cup Will Visit San Diego, Stockton

PRINCETON, N.J. – The ECHL in association with the National Hockey League (NHL) and the Hockey Hall of Fame (HHOF) announced Saturday that the Stanley Cup will visit the San Diego Gulls on Jan. 27 and the Stockton Thunder on Jan. 28 in conjunction with the famous trophy’s annual visit to the ECHL All-Star Game on Jan. 25 at Fresno, Calif.

From Oct. 26-Dec. 17, the NHL and the HHOF toured the Stanley Cup to 20 of the 25 teams in the ECHL to help raise awareness and donations for hurricane relief efforts, resulting in over $10,000 in donations. The Stanley Cup was unable to make its scheduled appearances for the Columbia Inferno and the South Carolina Stingrays while the Greenville Grrrowl’s scheduled game was postponed because of a power outage. The NHL and the HHOF are working with the three teams to reschedule the visits.

The Mississippi Sea Wolves and the Texas Wildcatters were both unable to play their ECHL season in 2005-06 as a result of Hurricanes Katrina and Rita, but both teams are working towards their return to the ice in October.

Hockey’s most famous trophy will be the center of various activities throughout the tour: visits to schools, media appearances and private showings. The “Keeper of the Cup” from the Hockey Hall of Fame also will be available to answer questions and talk about the history of hockey. Fans will have the opportunity to have photographs taken with the Stanley Cup and make a monetary donation towards hurricane relief.

For the fifth consecutive year the ECHL was represented on the Stanley Cup in 2004 by Tampa Bay’s Ruslan Fedotenko, Nolan Pratt and Andre Roy as well as radio announcer Dave Mishkin and assistant equipment manager Dana Heinze. The three players are the most ECHL representatives in one year surpassing 2001 when David Aebischer and Pratt helped Colorado win the title, and bring the total number of ECHL alumni on the Stanley Cup to nine. Pratt is the first ECHL player to have his name engraved twice on the Stanley Cup. The previous alumni whose names are on the Stanley Cup are Corey Schwab (New Jersey – 2003), Manny Legace (Detroit – 2002), Aebischer and Pratt (Colorado – 2001), Krzysztof Oliwa (New Jersey – 2000) and Kevin Dean (New Jersey – 1995).