Stingrays win Gingher Trophy as Eastern Conference champions

The South Carolina Stingrays claimed the E.A. “Bud” Gingher Memorial Trophy as Eastern Conference champions on Wednesday with a 4-3 win over the Manchester Monarchs in Game 7 of the Eastern Conference Finals.


Trailing 2-1 after one period, South Carolina took its first lead of the night on goals from Domenic Monardo and Olivier Archambault just 1:10 apart late in the second period. Manchester pulled even 3:17 into the third period on Ashton Rome‘s ninth goal of the playoffs but the Stingrays went back ahead at 8:56 on Archambault’s second goal of the night.


Archambault led South Carolina in the series with five goals and shared the team lead in points with Rob Flick (4g-3a) with seven points each. 


The Stingrays advance to the Kelly Cup Finals for the second time in three seasons, where they will meet the Western Conference champion Colorado Eagles.


The Stingrays will be making their ECHL record fifth appearance in the Kelly Cup Finals (1997, 2001, 2009, 2015, 2017). South Carolina’s three titles are tied with Alaska and Hampton Roads for the most championships in league history.


The E.A. “Bud” Gingher Memorial Trophy is named in recognition of E.A. “Bud” Gingher, who was Chairman of the ECHL Board of Governors from 1992-95. Gingher, who passed away in 2002, co-founded the Dayton Bombers in 1991 and owned the team for seven seasons, serving as President and Governor until selling the team in 1998. Gingher was inducted into the ECHL Hall of Fame in 2009.


Gingher Trophy Champions

2017      South Carolina Stingrays
2016      Wheeling Nailers
2015      South Carolina Stingrays
2014      Cincinnati Cyclones
2013      Reading Royals
2012      Florida Everblades
2011      Kalamazoo Wings
2010      Cincinnati Cyclones
2009      South Carolina Stingrays
2008      Cincinnati Cyclones
2007      Dayton Bombers
2006      Gwinnett Gladiators
2005      Florida Everblades
2004      Florida Everblades
2003      Atlantic City Boardwalk Bullies
2002      Dayton Bombers
2001      Trenton Titans
2000      Peoria Rivermen
1999      Richmond Renegades
1998      Hampton Roads Admirals