Stingrays win Game 7 in triple overtime

The South Carolina Stingrays defeated the Toledo Walleye 1-0 in Game 7 on Wednesday in front of a standing-room only crowd of 8.300 at Huntington Center in Toledo. Joe Devin scored the winning goal 5:30 into the third overtime as South Carolina wins the series 4 games to 3.

For winning the Eastern Conference championship, South Carolina receives the E.A. “Bud” Gingher Memorial Trophy. The trophy is named in recognition of E.A. “Bud” Gingher, who was Chairman of the ECHL Board of Governors from 1992-95. Gingher, who passed away in 2002, co-founded the Dayton Bombers in 1991 and owned the team for seven seasons, serving as President and Governor until selling the team in 1998. Gingher was inducted into the ECHL Hall of Fame in 2009.

E.A. "Bud" Gingher Memorial Trophy Champions

2015South Carolina Stingrays
2014Cincinnati Cyclones
2013Reading Royals
2012Florida Everblades
2011Kalamazoo Wings
2010Cincinnati Cyclones
2009South Carolina Stingrays
2008Cincinnati Cyclones
2007Dayton Bombers
2006Gwinnett Gladiators
2005Florida Everblades
2004Florida Everblades
2003Atlantic City Boardwalk Bullies
2002Dayton Bombers
2001Trenton Titans
2000Peoria Rivermen
1999Richmond Renegades
1998Hampton Roads Admirals