Storm, Rivermen Battle For Brabham Cup, Northwest Division

Going 4-0 last week, Toledo enters the final month of the season leading the race for the Henry Brabham Cup, awarded each season to the East Coast Hockey League regular season point champion.

Toledo is 40-13-8 with 88 points and sits atop the Northwest Division, three points ahead of Peoria, which has played two fewer games. The Rivermen are 40-14-5 with 85 points. The Storm is eight points ahead of both Atlantic City, which has also played two fewer games, and Columbia, which has played one more game than Toledo.

Atlantic City is 34-13-12 with 80 points while Columbia is 39-21-2 with 80 points. In its second season, Columbia has already broken its team records for wins (39), road wins (18) and goals (228) while tying its team record for home wins (21). Columbia is six points shy of its team record for points (86).

The Storm will play its next four games against Peoria, visiting the Rivermen on Saturday and Sunday and then hosting Peoria on March 14 and 15. Peoria will play four of its next five games against Toledo, hosting Cincinnati on Friday and Toledo on Saturday and Sunday before traveling to Toledo on March 14 and 15.

Toledo won the Brabham Cup with 95 points in its first season in 1991-92. The Storm finished second in the regular season standings, but won the Riley Cup Championship in 1992-93, and won its second consecutive Riley Cup in 1993-94 after finishing tied for second in the regular season standings. The Storm finished second in the regular season standings in 1995-96, despite a team record 104 points and 48 wins, and lost in the Riley Cup Semifinals.

Peoria finished second in the regular season standings in 1997-98 and again in 2000-01 despite a team record 100 points and a team record tying 45 wins. The Rivermen won the Kelly Cup in 1999-2000.

Complete List of Brabham Cup Winners