Tampa Bay Trio Increases
Alumni On Stanley Cup To Nine

PRINCETON, N.J. – For the fifth consecutive year the ECHL is represented on the Stanley Cup Champion with Ruslan Fedotenko, Nolan Pratt and Andre Roy as well as radio play-by-play announcer Dave Mishkin and assistant equipment manager Dana Heinze. Fedotenko scored two goals as Tampa Bay beat Calgary 2-1 in Game 7 on Monday.

The three players are the most ECHL representatives, surpassing 2001 when David Aebischer and Pratt helped Colorado win the title, and brings the total number of ECHL alumni on the Stanley Cup to nine. Pratt becomes the first ECHL player to have his name engraved twice on the Stanley Cup, earning the honor for the first time in 2001.

The previous alumni whose names are on the Stanley Cup are Corey Schwab (New Jersey – 2003), Manny Legace (Detroit – 2002), Aebischer and Pratt (Colorado – 2001), Krzysztof Oliwa (New Jersey – 2000) and Kevin Dean (New Jersey – 1995).

Pratt played for Richmond in 1995-96 while Roy played for Charlotte in 1997-98 and Fedotenko played for Trenton in 1999-2000. Mishkin began his broadcasting career with Johnstown in 1991-92 while Heinze was the equipment manager for Johnstown from 1988-92 and from 1995-99. Traveling with the Lightning but not playing were Ryan Craig, Brian Eklund and Jean-Francois Soucy, who all played for Pensacola in 2003-04; Timo Helbling, who played for Toledo in 2002-03; and Pascal Trepanier, who played for Dayton in 1994-95.

Calgary had Oliwa, who began his professional career with Raleigh in the ECHL, and assistant coach Jim Playfair, who began his coaching career with Dayton in the ECHL. Brent Krahn, who played for Las Vegas in 2003-04, traveled with Calgary during the postseason serving as the third goaltender.

The ECHL had over 30 players, six coaches and numerous off-ice personnel in the Stanley Cup Playoffs and all 16 teams had an ECHL player on their roster. Calgary is affiliated with Las Vegas of the ECHL while Tampa Bay is affiliated with Pensacola of the ECHL.