Thiessen Named
Reebok/AHL Player Of The Week

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – The American Hockey League announced that former Wheeling Nailers goaltender Brad Thiessen has been named the Reebok Hockey/AHL Player of the Week for the period ending March 28.

Thiessen, who was reassigned to Wilkes-Barre/Scranton on Jan. 12, recorded his third shutout of the season on March 24 and stopped 94 of 97 shots faced for a .969 save percentage and a 1.00 goals-against average for the week.

The Wheeling Nailers are the ECHL affiliate of the Pittsburgh Penguins of the National Hockey League and Wilkes-Barre/Scranton of the AHL.

The 24 year old is 8-3-0 with a shutout, a goals-against average of 2.67 and a save percentage of .919 in 12 appearances this season for Wheeling.

As a member of the Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins, Thiessen has registered a 11-12-1 record with three shutouts, a 2.51 goals-against average and a .913 save percentage in 25 appearances.

The Aldergrove, British Columbia native played three seasons at Northeastern University from where he posted a record of 52-46-12 with nine shutouts, a goals-against average of 2.39 and a save percentage of .922 in 111 games. Thiessen was named the Hockey East Conference Player of the Year in 2008-09 and was a finalist for the Hobey Baker Award last season.

Other former ECHL Players nominated for the award were Matt Anderson, David Desharnais, Philippe Dupuis, Tyler Haskins, Cam Paddock, Warren Peters and Jamie Tardif.

Thiessen becomes the seventh former ECHL player to win the award this season joining Justin Pogge for the period ending Feb. 14, Maxim Noreau for the period ending Jan. 24, Peter Mannino for the period ending Jan. 3, Matt Beaudoin for the period ending Dec. 6, Mike Brodeur for the period ending Nov. 8 and Alex Foster for the period ending Nov. 22.

The ECHL has had affiliations with 20 or more teams in the AHL the last nine seasons and in the past eight years there have been more ECHL players called up to the AHL than all other professional leagues combined.

Seven times in the last nine years the winner of the AHL Coach of the Year award has been a former ECHL coach including 2006-08 with Scott Gordon, Mike Haviland and Kevin Dineen. Former ECHL coaches won the award four consecutive years from 2001-04 with Don Granato, Bruce Cassidy, Geoff Ward and Claude Noel. The first former ECHL coach to win the award was Peter Laviolette in 1999.

Nine former ECHL players were named Reebok/AHL Player of the Week in 2008-09 and 10 received the honor in 2007-08.