Toledo receives 2015-16 Overall Award of Excellence

The ECHL announced on Tuesday that the Toledo Walleye have been selected as the 2015-16 recipient of the ECHL Team Award of Excellence. It marks the second consecutive season and the fourth time in the last seven seasons that the Walleye have received the award.

The award recognizes the ECHL organization that executes a well-rounded business plan including, but not limited to, sales, marketing, media relations and merchandising while also distinguishing themselves in their community, on and off the ice

The other finalists were the Colorado Eagles, Missouri Mavericks and Tulsa Oilers.

Toledo set an all-time team record in attendance during the 2015-16 season with 251,369 fans during the regular season. The team also experienced a peak year for group tickets sold, group ticket revenue, School Day tickets sold, sellouts and average attendance. The team also secured the most sponsorship revenue in team history. The Walleye once again led the ECHL in merchandise sales and set a new all-time sales record. During the 2015-16 season, the Walleye provided nearly $400,000 in charitable contributions to over 25 area organizations.

On the ice, the Walleye captured the North Division regular-season title for the second consecutive season, marking the first time a Toledo team has won back-to-back division titles since the Toledo Storm won three consecutive division titles from 1991-92 through 1993-94.

ECHL Award of Excellence Winners

2015-16    Toledo Walleye
2014-15    Toledo Walleye
2013-14    Ontario Reign
2012-13    Orlando Solar Bears
2011-12    Toledo Walleye
2010-11    Bakersfield Condors
2009-10    Toledo Walleye
2008-09    Stockton Thunder
2007-08    Gwinnett Gladiators
2006-07    Stockton Thunder
2005-06    Alaska Aces
2004-05    Pensacola Ice Pilots
2003-04    Florida Everblades
                Johnstown Chiefs