Toledo receives 2016-17 Overall Award of Excellence

The ECHL announced on Monday that the Toledo Walleye have been selected as the 2016-17 recipient of the ECHL Team Award of Excellence. It marks the third consecutive season and the fifth time in the last eight seasons that the Walleye have received the award.


The award recognizes the ECHL organization that executes a well-rounded business plan including, but not limited to, sales, marketing, media relations and merchandising while also distinguishing themselves in their community, on and off the ice.


The other finalists were the Colorado Eagles, Florida Everblades, Greenville Swamp Rabbits and South Carolina Stingrays


During the 2016-17 season, the Walleye set a new single-season attendance record with over 254,000 fans while posting 30 sellouts in their 36 games. Toledo saw a 17 percent increase in merchandise sales during the regular season and a 25 percent increase during the playoffs while also donating over $320,000 to local charitable organizations.


On the ice, the Walleye set 33 team and individual records while winning the Brabham Cup for the second time in the last three seasons while advancing to the Western Conference Finals.


ECHL Award of Excellence Winners
2016-17      Toledo Walleye
2015-16      Toledo Walleye
2014-15      Toledo Walleye
2013-14      Ontario Reign
2012-13      Orlando Solar Bears
2011-12      Toledo Walleye
2010-11      Bakersfield Condors
2009-10      Toledo Walleye
2008-09      Stockton Thunder
2007-08      Gwinnett Gladiators
2006-07      Stockton Thunder
2005-06      Alaska Aces
2004-05      Pensacola Ice Pilots
2003-04      Florida Everblades and Johnstown Chiefs