Toledo wins 2016-17 Brabham Cup

The Toledo Walleye clinched the 2016-17 Brabham Cup championship on Saturday by virtue of their 10-0 win over Indy.


With the win, Toledo completes the regular season with a 51-17-4 for 106 points. It is the second time in the last three seasons that the Walleye have captured the Brabham Cup and the fourth time a Toledo ECHL team has captured the Brabham Cup as the Toledo Storm won regular-season championships in 1991-92 and 2002-03.


The Walleye’s Central Division championship this season marks the third straight season the club has captured a division title after winning North Division titles each of the previous two seasons.


The Brabham Cup is the trophy awarded annually to the ECHL team that finishes with the most points in the regular season. The recipient is guaranteed home-ice advantage throughout its participation in the Kelly Cup Playoffs.


The award is named in recognition of Henry Brabham, who founded the ECHL in 1988-89 with five teams in four states. Brabham, who was the first inductee into the ECHL Hall of Fame in 2008, owned three of the original five teams. The dedication of the Virginia businessman was crucial to the league surviving to span from coast-to-coast while advancing over 600 players and countless coaches, on-ice officials and front office personnel to the National Hockey League.


Brabham Cup Champions
2016-17     Toledo Walleye, 106 points
2015-16     Missouri Mavericks, 109 points
2014-15     Toledo Walleye, 107 points
2013-14     Alaska Aces, 97 points
2013-14     Alaska Aces, 106 points
2011-12     Alaska Aces, 97 points
2010-11     Alaska Aces, 97 points
2009-10     Idaho Steelheads, 103 points
2008-09     Florida Everblades, 103 points
2007-08     Cincinnati Cyclones, 115 points
2006-07     Las Vegas Wranglers, 106 points
2005-06     Alaska Aces, 113 points
2004-05     Pensacola Ice Pilots, 107 points
2003-04     San Diego Gulls, 108 points
2002-03     Toledo Storm, 104 points
2001-02     Louisiana Ice Gators, 116 points
2000-01     Trenton Titans, 104 points
1999-00     Florida Everblades, 108 points
1998-99     Pee Dee Pride, 106 points
1997-98     Louisiana Ice Gators, 96 points
1996-97     South Carolina Stingrays, 100 points
1995-96     Richmond Renegades, 105 points
1994-95     Wheeling Thunderbirds, 97 points
1993-94     Knoxville Cherokees, 94 points
1992-93     Wheeling Thunderbirds, 88 points
1991-92     Toledo Storm, 95 points
1990-91     Knoxville Cherokees, 97 points
1989-90     Winston-Salem Thunderbirds, 82 points
1998-89     Erie Panthers, 77 points