Toledo wins Marketing Award of Excellence


The ECHL on Tuesday announced that the Toledo Walleye are the 2012-13 recipient of the ECHL Award of Excellence for Marketing.

The award recognizes the ECHL team that executes a well-rounded marketing, sponsorship and advertising campaign with consideration given to sponsorship sales, advertising, marketing campaign and promotions.

The other finalists were the Bakersfield Condors, Cincinnati Cyclones, Colorado Eagles and San Francisco Bulls.

The Walleye set a new team attendance record in 2012-13 through the introduction of a new business to business campaign targeting group outings and a new outdoor, television and radio campaign targeting single-game buyers. New in-game advertising campaigns resulted in an increase in concessions and rental suite sales while a new fan wear campaign led to an increase in merchandise sales over the 2011-12 season. Toledo also raised money for local charities through theme nights such as Super Hero Night, Boy Scout Jamboree, Hockey History Night and Pink in the Rink.

ECHL Marketing Award Of Excellence

2013 Toledo Walleye
2012 Gwinnett Gladiators
2011 Cincinnati Cyclones
2010 Bakersfield Condors
2009 Alaska Aces
2008 Charlotte Checkers
  Bakersfield Condors
2007 Charlotte Checkers
  Alaska Aces
2006 San Diego Gulls
2005George SandovalAlaska Aces
2004Eric Trapp and John CunninghamIdaho Steelheads
2003Bart Rogers and Mike NelsonPeoria Rivermen
2002Mark MillerFlorida Everblades
2001Rich LiskTrenton Titans
2000Bart RogersPeoria Rivermen
1999Pat PylypuikToledo Storm
1998Neil HoytPensacola IcePilots
1997Belinda WigginsRichmond Renegades