Toledo’s Barnes named CCM ECHL Rookie of the Year

The ECHL on Monday announced that
Tyler Barnes of the Toledo Walleye has been named CCM Rookie of the Year and the recipient of the John A. Daley Memorial Trophy.

The award is presented annually to the player selected as the most proficient in his first year of competition in the ECHL as determined in a vote of ECHL coaches, broadcasters, media relations directors and media members.. The trophy was named in honor of John A. Daley in 1997. Daley, who passed away in 1996, was one of the founding fathers of the ECHL, serving as general manger and minority owner of the Johnstown Chiefs from the inception of the team in 1988 until 1994.

Jason Bast of Idaho finished second, followed by Wheeling’s Derek Army, Greg Wolfe of Alaska and Tulsa’s Jeff Jubinville.

The ECHL will announce the winner of the Coach of the Year and recipient of the John Brophy Award on Tuesday.

Barnes, who was named to the ECHL All-Rookie Team last week, led ECHL rookies in scoring with 74 points (34g-40a) in 71 games this season, which was also tied for eighth overall in the league. His 30 goals were tied for second among first-year players and he was tied for second with 40 assists. He also led all first-year players with 12 power-play goals and 19 power-play points. Under contract with Grand Rapids of the American Hockey League, Barnes was the ECHL Rookie of the Month for December after scoring 17 points (7g-10a) in 13 games during the month.

Barnes played the previous four seasons at the University of Wisconsin, totaling 101 points (45g-56a) in 152 games. Prior to joining the Badgers, he spent two seasons with Waterloo of the USHL.

ECHL Rookie of the Year Winners

2015Tyler BarnesToledo Walleye
2014William RapuzziIdaho Steelheads
2013Ryan ZapolskiSouth Carolina Stingrays
2012Dustin GazleyElmira Jackals
2011Ben StreetWheeling Nailers
2010Justin DonatiElmira Jackals
2009Bryan EwingWheeling Nailers
2008David DesharnaisCincinnati Cyclones
2007Colton FretterGwinnett Gladiators
2006Alex LeavittAlaska Aces
2005Joey TenuteSouth Carolina Stingrays
2004Kevin DoellGwinnett Gladiators
2003Jason JaffrayRoanoke Express
2002Frederic CloutierLouisiana IceGators
2001Scott StirlingTrenton Titans
2000Jan LasakHampton Roads Admirals
1999Maxime GingrasRichmond Renegades
1998Sean VenedamToledo Storm
1997Dany BousquetBirmingham Bulls
1996Keli CorpseWheeling Thunderbirds
1995Kevin McKinnonErie Panthers
1994Dan GravelleGreensboro Monarchs
1993Joe FlanaganBirmingham Bulls
1992Darren ColbourneDayton Bombers
1991Dan GauthierKnoxville Cherokees
1990Bill McDougallErie Panthers
1989Tom SassoJohnstown Chiefs