Toledo’s Berschbach receives 2016-17 ECHL Sportsmanship Award

Shane Berschbach of the Toledo Walleye is the recipient of the Sportsmanship Award for 2016-17 as determined in a vote of ECHL coaches, broadcasters, media relations directors and media members.


It is the second consecutive season that Berschbach has received the Sportsmanship Award, becoming the first player to win in back-to-back seasons since Dayton’s Jamie Ling won for three consecutive seasons from 1998-99 through 2000-01.


The award is presented annually to the player who is judged to have exhibited the best sportsmanship combined with a high standard of playing ability.


Luke Salazar of Colorado finished second, followed by Brampton’s David Vallorani, Peter MacArthur of Adirondack and Alaska’s Peter Sivak.


Berschbach, who was named to the All-ECHL Second Team on Thursday, ranks third in the league with 62 assists and is fifth with 80 points while accumulating just 25 penalty minutes in 68 games this season. The 25-year-old has recorded 212 points (58g-154a), and only 41 penalty minutes, in 197 career ECHL games with Toledo and Kalamazoo.


ECHL Sportsmanship Award Winners
2016-17     Shane Berschbach, Toledo Walleye
2015-16     Shane Berschbach, Toledo Walleye
2014-15     Chad Costello, Allen Americans
2013-14     Peter Sivak, Alaska Aces
2012-13     Randy Rowe, Toledo Walleye
2011-12     Kevin Ulanski, Colorado Eagles
2010-11     Brian Swanson, Alaska Aces
2009-10     Barret Ehgoetz, Cincinnati Cyclones
2008-09     Travis Morin, South Carolina Stingrays
2007-08     Jeff Campbell, Gwinnett Gladiators
2006-07     Derek Nesbitt, Idaho Steelheads
2005-06     Steve Saviano, Florida Everblades
2004-05     Kris Goodjohn, Gwinnett Gladiators
2003-04     Mark Pederson, San Diego Gulls
2002-03     Rejean Stringer, Columbia Inferno
2001-02     Ben Stafford, Trenton Titans
2000-01     Jamie Ling, Dayton Bombers
1999-00     Jamie Ling, Dayton Bombers
1998-99     Jamie Ling, Dayton Bombers
1997-98     Cal Ingraham, Tallahassee Tiger Sharks
1996-97     Mike Ross, South Carolina Stingrays