Trenton Returns Home Leading Finals 2-0

PRINCETON, N.J. – Posting back-to-back wins at Florida, Trenton becomes the third team in the last three years and the fifth team since 2000 to win the first two games of the finals on the road, joining Idaho (2004), Atlantic City (2003), South Carolina (2001) and Louisiana (2000). The last four champions – Idaho (2004), Atlantic City (2003), Greenville (2002) and South Carolina (2001) – each won the first two games in the finals.

The Kelly Cup Finals move to Trenton for Game 3 on Friday at 7:30 p.m. and Game 4 on Saturday at 7 p.m. If necessary, Game 5 would be played on May 30 at 5 p.m. Tickets are available at the Sovereign Bank Arena Box Office, by telephone at (609) 599-9500 and online at

Trenton beat Florida 7-0 before a sellout crowd of 7,465 in Game 1 on Saturday and 2-1 in front of a sold-out crowd of 7,111 in Game 2 on Sunday. In the 2004 Finals against Idaho, Florida lost 5-1 in Game 1 and 6-4 in Game 2.

In 17 years of postseason play, there have been 13 teams who have taken a 2-0 lead in the ECHL Finals. Nine of the previous 12 have gone on to the win the championship, but only four have recorded a victory in Game 3. Idaho in 2004 became the first team in history to win Game 3, but not record a sweep. Hampton Road swept Louisville in 1992, Charlotte beat Jacksonville in four games in 1996 and Greenville beat Dayton in 2002.

Each of the nine teams that led 2-0 and who went on to win the title did so in five games or less. The three teams who held a 2-0 lead, but failed to win the championship are Johnstown (1989), Wheeling (1993) and Louisiana (2000).

Peoria lost the first two games at home to Louisiana in 2000 before winning the next four, including a 4-3 overtime win at home in Game 6. Toledo lost the first two games at Wheeling in 1993 before winning the next four, including a 7-6 win in double overtime at home in Game 6. Carolina lost the first two games at Johnstown in 1989 before eventually winning the series in seven games.