Trenton’s Apps Named
PHPA US Airways Man of the Year

St. Catharines, Ont. – US Airways and the Professional Hockey Players’ Association announced on Wednesday that Syl Apps of the Trenton Titans is the recipient of the 2003 PHPA US Airways Player of the Year Award . Apps is the first ECHL player to win the award, presented annually to a PHPA Member who exemplifies outstanding charitable efforts in his playing community throughout the hockey season.

A graduate of Princeton University, Apps scored 32 points (11g-21a) in 55 regular season games as Captain of the Titans, but it was his off-ice efforts that helped him win the award. Apps created a charitable foundation, The Character Project, a non-profit organization based in Trenton that provides adolescents from low-income families with access to quality academic and athletic programs.

In addition to The Character Project, Apps is a frequent visitor to the Boys & Girls Club of Trenton/Mercer County, where he helps kids with their homework while also offering support, confidence and guidance. He participated in the Boys & Girls Club’s Read Across America Day, and regularly donated tickets to Titans games and other area sporting events. Apps made regular appearances throughout the community, including visiting local schools and area hospitals and he also filmed a public service announcement for the American Red Cross.

“As professional hockey players, we are very fortunate to be able to do what we do for a living,” said Apps. “It gives us a great opportunity to give back to the community and the fans who support us. I am honored by this award and accept it on behalf of the many PHPA Members who do so much in their communities.”

Other players nominated for the 2003 PHPA US Airways Player of the Year Award were: Raymond Giroux (Albany), Mike Green (San Antonio), Casey Hankinson (Norfolk), David Hymovitz (Binghamton), John Jakopin (Cleveland), Mark Lamothe (Grand Rapids), David Ling (Syracuse), Cameron Mann (Milwaukee), Ben Simon (Chicago), Brent Thompson (Hershey), Stephen Valiquette (Bridgeport), Jason Ward (Hamilton), Clint Way (Columbia), Erik Westrum (Springfield), and Mike Zigomanis (Lowell).

The PHPA and US Airways established the Player of the Year Award in 1999 to recognize the off-ice contributions of PHPA Members. Apps will receive two tickets to anywhere US Airways flies in North America or the Caribbean, and the US Airways Player of the Year Trophy, created from the Darlington Crystal Rock Collection. Apps will receive the tickets and trophy at the PHPA Charity Sports Memorabilia Auction Dinner on July 21.